Posted in CRAFT THERAPY

SCULPTING WITH GLASS

An old wine glass – a candle stick – a cake plate – an old ornament. You find them as you clean out closets and open boxes in the basement. You find them at garage sales and flee markets. Rather than toss them out, try creating elegant sculptures.

2 years 2010-2012 074

The piece in the wagon consists of a votive holder (blue glass),

an upside down candle stick, and an upside down patterned serving bowl.

It added a bit of non-green color in my herb garden.

2 years 2010-2012 076

The piece on the left is a serving platter, an ice cream sundae glass,

and a mirror and red mosaic glass vase like flowers might be delivered in.

The piece on the right is a cake plate turned upside,

a stubby candle stick holder with a large blue Christmas ornament glued where the candle goes,

and then a large vase protecting the ornament.

MY GLASS COLLECTION

I am a garage-sale-aholic. When sale signs pop up on corners, I just have to stop. I’m choosy though, picking up the possible pieces and turning them right side up and upside down to see what could become of them. Then, of course, I look for other pieces that just might look good together. Then I look for the unique pieces: the ceramic tea pot without a cover, the ceramic high heel that had once been a planter, and a clear glass Tiki glass. I have a couple of boxes set aside in my garage for my collection.

2 years 2010-2012 234

ASSEMBLING YOUR GLASS

I work in my garage so that I can spread out and not make a complete disaster of my house. I have a large folding table, and if the weather is nice, I can move it outside to see how the pieces work together in the sunlight.

As I arrange the pieces, I play around much like trying to find where a puzzle piece fits. Sometimes it seems that the pieces I want to work together just don’t, and pieces that I don’t know what to do with work together beautifully.

After you find the right fit, it is best to prepare the glassware. It’s not fancy, but every piece really needs to be washed and left to dry. When it comes to gluing the pieces together, it is best that the day is not humid or too hot. A humid day causes steam to get trapped in the pieces; the moisture can condense on the inside of the glass and even mold. A day that is too hot doesn’t allow the glue time to dry correctly. Some of the pieces I glued this summer in the heat (90 degrees) did not create a good bond, and when they were picked up the next day, they fell apart.

GLUE?

Any of the glues that adhere one piece of glass permanently to another MUST be used in a well ventilated area. Some glues even suggest the use of plastic gloves so that your skin doesn’t come in contact with your skin. I have used E6000 on my sculptures, but there are other glues you can use.

DECORATE

Hanging something with fishing line creates an interesting curiosity. Attaching glass teardrops or beads in patterns on the outside of the glass adds interest. If you are going to display the piece inside without the concern of the weather, the sky’s the limit in how you decorate the piece, but if you are going to set the piece outside in the elements, make sure everything is weather proof.

TAKE YOUR SCULPTURES IN

If you live in the northern portion of the country where the temperature dips well beyond freezing and snow mounds up in your yard, it is best to protect your sculptures by taking them inside – out of the winter elements.

Leave a Reply

