Posted in CRAFT THERAPY

MARCH IS … NATIONAL CRAFT MONTH

I grew up in a crafting family, but it wasn’t until the 1980s or 1990s did it hit me that I was raised a crafter by a crafter. And it wasn’t until recently that I realized how much of a crafter my mother and father actually were.

My crafting led me to create things that my parents didn’t think were necessary or couldn’t afford. As I cleaned out my mother’s house, I found a couple of pieces that I had created because I had wanted the item: a “jewelry chest” that sat on my dresser was created out of a shirt box and covered with wrapping paper, the drawer pulls were tiny burned out light bulbs, and I had taken a piece of mirror and framed it; a “purse” was made out of a small candy box and covered with wrapping paper, inside were several sections to keep things separate.

As I look back, I remember learning how to create things out of wood in my father’s and grandfather’s workshops, sewing, knitting, crocheting, candle making, painting plaster statues, and card making. I remember a Styrofoam circle that my dad and I wired pine cones to. We made two. They were to be Christmas presents: one for Mom and one for Grandma. In order to make them look better, my dad suggested we spray each with gold paint. Both of us watched in disbelief as the Styrofoam disintegrated when the paint was sprayed. We had nothing to show for all our hard work.

Now, in our new home, we have a room above the garage for hobbies and crafts that do not make a mess. It will be home to my husband’s model railroad setup. It is also where I plan to do scrapbooking and card making as well as sewing and some jewelry making.

The other craft space is in a separate outbuilding. We call it our shop. It houses all the wood working tools and will be a space to work on stained glass pieces, make my repurposed glass statues, repurpose old silverware into pieces of jewelry, paint, and learn to weld.

You see, to me, crafting is a way of stress relief.

I have been contemplating gathering a group of creative people together once a month to learn a new craft. I see it being similar to the old time quilting circles.

What craft would you bring to the table? What could you teach us?

Leave a Reply

