Posted in GETTIN' MY ACT TOGETHER

3 THINGS THAT BLOGGING GURUS WON’T TELL YOU ABOUT BLOGGING

I’ve done my share of reading about blogging. I’ve even read posts with titles like this.

BUT

Mike’s challenge today is to write a post using this title.

SO

A BIT ABOUT MY BLOGGING EXPERIENCE

I’ve been blogging in some shape or form since about 2010, or maybe before that. My blogs and my writing and my personal interests have evolved and changed. Not a surprise to me because I have a wide variety of interests.

My blogging started out as an individual blog. In attending a variety of writing conferences and reading a variety of blogs about writing and blogging, my single blog morphed into a total of five blogs. Why? Because each blog has a special niche that fits a specific side of my personality: my author/writer blog (Karna Tecla); living a happy, fulfilled life (The Driveway Cafe); nutrition and health (Kiltered Condition); travel (Ticket to Wander); and food, recipes, and family kitchen stories (Eclectic Recipe Book).

None of them have a consistent viewing or following because none of them have a consistent editorial calendar. I’ve tried. And each time I try to develop a calendar, life throws me a curve ball that disrupts the plan. Not that I shouldn’t be able to improvise and move around the pitch – after all, I taught high school and teenagers throw curve balls every day. Now, as I am settling down into our new home in our new town in our new state, I am once again attempting to set down an editorial calendar.

Exciting, huh? I think so.

But I digress.

And this isn’t addressing the task for today.

So, drum roll,

3 Things Blogging Gurus Won’t Tell You.

#1. Blogging gurus WILL tell you that you need to determine what your readers want and to give your readers what they want. BUT, blogging gurus WILL NOT tell you what your readers want, NOR will most of them tell you how to figure it out. YOU as a writer need to figure that out for yourself.

Even I am not sure how I am going to do this, but I do have some ideas.

*Study your comments. Sometimes people will let you know if they want to know more about something.

*Finish a blog post with a call for information. Ask your readers a question and have them respond in the comments.

*Have a FaceBook page where you can strike up conversations with your readers and potential readers.

#2.Blogging gurus WILL NEVER tell you the optimum number of posts to make per week or how to create an editorial calendar that works. Even as writers, we are all unique individuals, and what works for one doesn’t always work for another.

#3. Blogging gurus NEVER seem to tell you how much they actually work, nor how difficult the work actually is. They may tell you that they spend a couple of hours in the morning writing, but they leave out the rest – all the non-writing tasks: reading emails, learning how to improve a picture or put a quote on a picture, being adaptable so that when WordPress makes changes you can learn them quickly, how much time they spend on editing and proofreading, AND that they seem to jot down ideas and pieces while they are at their income job or performing some other task.

THE REALITY OF IT

In reality, how many of you would pick up a pen and sit down to write – let alone blog if the blogging gurus began by letting others know how difficult it CAN be. After all, it isn’t always difficult.

Although it would be nice for others to share their difficulties, we may never experience their struggles. In addition, what they find easy, we may struggle at.

 

One thought on “3 THINGS THAT BLOGGING GURUS WON’T TELL YOU ABOUT BLOGGING

  1. You have hit the nail on the head. Blogging gurus give us hints as to what to do, but they do not come right out and tell us howwwwww they got where they are. Maybe they do that in the courses they offer, I don’t know, because I cannot afford the courses.

    Thank you for sharing, keep on writing, encouraging and leading us…you are a good, no great teacher

Leave a Reply

