Posted in CONVERSATIONS OVER COFFEE

CONVERSATIONS OVER COFFEE

Wow! The year 2016 is over. I’m shocked at the number of celebrities we have lost who shaped the views and lives of my generation.

I’ve missed our coffee time, and that is my fault. Most of the year 2016 found me giving in to resistance with procrastination and time-wasting activities.

If we were having coffee right now . . . I’d share with you some of my goals for this year and ask if you would hold me accountable in the completion of my goals. I found it very easy in 2016 to tell myself that I would get to something tomorrow. I would even ask you to get involved in some of my ventures.

If we were having coffee right now . . . I’d share with you that the world (well, maybe just those who were involved with her world) lost a great woman on Christmas Eve. No, she was not featured on 20/20, but she was featured in the minds of her children, grandchildren, great-grandchildren, and those that knew her. This woman was my Aunt Lou. As my cousin put it at the funeral, “With her death, that makes us the elder generation.” That’s a bit scary. I’m not sure I’m ready for that status.

If we were having coffee right now . . . I’d share that the exciting news of the birth of our seventh grandchild, and the birth of a niece and a nephew. It is the helpful knowledge that although we all will eventually pass on, we will be survived by the next generation. It is the proof of the circle of life.

If we were having coffee right now . . . I’d share the excitement of the three people in our lives who got engaged in the past couple of months. Three couples getting ready for a new life together.

If we were having coffee right now . . . I’d share the fact that I did a lot of mourning of lost traditions this year. I sat and dwelled too much on what used to be instead of soaking up the celebration and creating new traditions. Realizing this gives me the opportunity to live in the present for the year 2017, to not let things escape me.

What would you want to tell me if we were having coffee right now?

Leave a Reply

