Posted in MUSIC FOR YOUR MONDAY

AIN’T NOTHIN’ GONNA BREAK MY STRIDE

Nineteen years ago, I got into into my Jeep. It was late. I was tired. I had too much on my plate: raising two active and involved boys, a job, horrible Northern Illinois winter weather, and the beginning stages of divorce.

I shoved the key into the ignition and started the Jeep.Then, the radio (pre-Sirius) sprang to life with this song. It became a motivational song for me: No matter what was going to be thrown in my direction, I needed to pick myself and my emotions up off the road and get on with life.

I didn’t realize when I heard it that that the song had been recorded some fourteen/fifteen years earlier in 1983 – the same year I had gotten married. And now, in 1998, it was back on the radio.

I think it’s great how music has the ability to be the firecracker that gets us in motion.

Leave a Reply

